Sacrament of

Holy Orders

Holy Orders – Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to His apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time, thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate (Catechism #1536). 

Every baptized Christian shares in the priesthood of Jesus Christ. 


Some men are called to share in the distinct ministerial priesthood through the Sacrament of Holy Orders,

which has three ranks: bishop, priest, and deacon. 

The Second Vatican Council has restored the permanent diaconate

as an aid to our churches.  


If you feel called to the priesthood or diaconate, do not be afraid!  Ordination to the priesthood is always a call and a gift from God. 

Speak to one of our parish priests. 

For further information or to recommend a possible candidate in the

Diocese of Scranton,

check out here.

Church of St. John

570-223-9144 Ext. #2

5171 Milford Rd.

E. Stroudsburg, PA 18302

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon

@2018 by Church of St. John. Proudly created with

For more info....